Classroom Libraries

If you have a classroom library, how much do you actually use it?

Since I started teaching almost 4 years ago, I’ve been trying to build my classroom library. Currently, I have quite a collection, and I allow my students to “check out” books from me. I created a slip for them to fill out before taking a book from my classroom with the date of check out, name, grade level, and book title. I then transfer the info to a Google Sheet to keep track. I periodically remind students that they have a book checked out from my library so that none get lost or forgotten. It has worked out pretty well, and some students have even discovered some great books that sparks their interest in reading more! Oh, I’m also investing in a custom stamp so I can mark all of my library books in case they get misplaced in another teacher’s room! 🙂

The only downside of my library selection is that most of my books have been handed down, found (free on a curb), or given to me. This is great simply because I haven’t had to make many book purchases for my library. However, because those types of books are typically ones that are outdated or being thrown out for one reason or another, a lot of my books are old, worn, or not complete series.

So! I have started a campaign through Scholastic! It’s a way to collect donations and none of the money is taken by Scholastic. 100% of it is used to purchase online. I am using the money solely on new books, but you have the option of buying school supplies or items for your classroom too.

If you have the time, please check out my current campaign! ❤ Any donations are greatly appreciated and will go directly to building my classroom library with more current, interesting, and completed series of books for my students!

Please share your own classroom library and any successes or downfalls you’ve found with it.

Leave a comment